NYC: Mood Designer Fabrics

 So if you’ve been following my blog recently you know that I just tagged along with my husband on a business trip to New York City.  While he was working I was left to my own devices, but luckily in NYC there is no shortage of things to do and see!  On this trip our hotel was near Bryant Park and just a few blocks away from the garment district.  On my first day alone in the city I decided to visit Mood, the amazing fabric store that you may recognize from Project Runway.  Armed with my backpack, camera, and an address, I hit the streets in search of inspiration.  And boy, did I ever find it!

Entrance to Bricken Arcade from West 37th

Mood is located inside the Bricken Arcade Building at 225 West 37th.  After walking back and forth in front of the entrance at least five times to be sure I was in the right place (I naively expected there to be some sort of sign on the outside of the building), I entered the air-conditioned passageway that serves as a shortcut between 37th and 38th and hopped an elevator (guided by a helpful attendant) that delivered me to my destination.

The Mood Lobby

My first glimpse inside

This ain’t Hobby Lobby, that’s for sure.  The gentleman in the blue suspenders turned out to be some sort of tour guide who informed me that Project Runway had just been filming inside the shop the day before.

A rainbow of colors and textures.

 When I first stepped into the shop, I just had to stop and take it all in.  Mood is comprised of three floors jam-packed full of fabric, notions, and really cool people.  The whole place felt alive with creativity!

Organized chaos

A fabric junkie’s paradise!

Texture and more texture!

Vibrant yellows on the home decor floor.

Color makes me happy!

Mirror, mirror…

Metallics

An entire spectrum of tulle

The notions were just as fun to look at as the fabrics!

Trim, trim, and more trim!

Buttons galore

Fun buckles and more

Sparkly trim

Chains, anyone?

If you’re in the mood to be tickled pink…

In true urban fashion, no space was wasted.

Ribbon and fur displayed in the stairwell.

More ribbon

Well, hello there!

 What a fun way to spend part of an afternoon!

Until next time,

Twodaloo!



2 thoughts on “NYC: Mood Designer Fabrics

Leave a Reply

