How Does Your Garden Grow?

Spring has officially sprung here in the Lone Star State.  Not that we had any winter to speak of, but you won’t hear me complaining. I love warm weather!

One of the things I love most about spring is watching my garden come to life.  I became interested in gardening about four years ago when we first moved into our home.  My new hobby quickly became an obsession, and I spent an entire summer digging new flower beds and experimenting with different plants, learning what would survive in our sticky clay soil and scorching heat.  Sadly, my landscape took a back seat throughout my difficult pregnancy and for the first year of  new parenthood.  But now that the babies are beginning to really enjoy being outside, I have been able to resume puttering around the garden, and I couldn’t be more tickled!

When I began taking stock of our landscaping, I was pleasantly surprised to find that most of the perennials that I had chosen for our gardens when I put in new beds were going strong despite their neglected state.  Many of them have even flourished in my absence, and after some judicious pruning, the mature plants have filled out the beds nicely.  Yesterday afternoon I was able to snap a few photos of what is going on in our front gardens, and I thought I’d share them with you.

The blooming gardens have been really fun to share with our little ones.  All the colors, textures, and smells make for a great sensorial experience for them, and they love to “help” me water, pull weeds, and dig holes for new plants.

Containers and a few garden statues fill in empty spots in my small front beds. Go Frogs!

Knockout roses…low maintenance and pack a punch!

Peach carpet roses and purple verbena.

Lush greens in the shade under an ornamental tree.


Carpet roses pop against a background of euonymus.

A little “friend” enjoying the sun (and probably bugs) in the garden.

Hope you enjoyed a little peek into our small garden!  Until next time,

Twodaloo!

Linked up to:

Centsational Girl

Fishtail Cottage

4 thoughts on “How Does Your Garden Grow?

  1. I think i would bounce so high in the air to turn a corner and see your ‘friend’ in the garden! yikes….. i am so excited to have you share your beautiful gardens over at the garden party – thank you! your landscape is amazing and look forward to seeing your posts again & again! oxox,tracie

Leave a Reply

