Growing Up

Now that Spring has (prematurely) sprung here in Texas, I’ve had a bee in my bonnet to get my house, and my life, organized.

I’m working on the house.  My life…that’s another post.

A few weekends ago, Mimi and Granddad kept the twins for us so we could get some work done around the house.  The first project I tackled was cleaning out the kids’ closet, pulling out all the clothing that they have outgrown over the past several months.

No wonder I couldn’t find anything. Heck, one of my kids could be in that pile!

Now that I’ve got my new sewing obsession, instead of seeing a pile of used clothing, I saw a gold mine of fun fabric waiting to be repurposed, or “upcycled,” into something new and exciting.

Like this dress.

This dress was adorable, but Baby Girl only got to wear it once before it got cold outside. Since it was size 6-9 months, she has definitely outgrown it.

I loved the pink and black polka dots, so I decided to use my new sewing skills and refashion the dress into a cute little skirt.

Nothing fancy, I just cut off the bodice (and stashed it away for a future project), added an elastic waistband, and used strips of fabric from an old Gap “Favorite Tee” from my Goodwill pile to make a ruffle for the bottom.

Et voila!  A new skirt. It cost me all of about $1.50 for the elastic.

Then I tried it on my little model.

Snacking in style. Or eating off the floor, however you want to look at it.

Loving the ruffle at the bottom.

Checking out the ducks.

I think she likes it!

Hey! Don’t forget about me! I’m cute, too!

Oh, and by the way, I can walk now. Here comes trouble!

That’s it for tonight!  Happy upcycling!

Until next time,

Twodaloo!

2 thoughts on “Growing Up

Leave a Reply

