My Little Lucky Charms

Top o’ the mornin’ to ya!  In honor of Saint Patrick’s Day, I thought I would share my latest sewing adventures.  When I was but a wee lass, I secretly dreaded Saint Paddy’s Day.  I’m not sure where this phobia originated, but I imagine that it was the result of some well-meaning adult giving me a little pinch for forgetting to wear green.  In order to ensure that my children do not suffer the same fate, I decided to make them some (hopefully) cute outfits for the big day showcasing the all-important color.  I scored some cute shamrock fabric and a plain white tee shirt at Walmart,  scavenged a pair of outgrown overalls from Little Man’s Goodwill box, fired up my laptop, and got to work.  After much trial and error, here is what I came up with…

First, I started with the overall dress.  I simply cut off the bib of the overalls to serve as the bodice of the dress, and then used the proportions from this Candy Corn Dress tutorial to complete the skirt.

I love how the dress makes my worn out fence suddenly look cool and rustic 😉

My favorite part of the dress is the ruffle at the bottom.  I trimmed it with ric-rac to add another sweet detail.

Kind of a pain, but worth it!

My model wasn’t too interested in smiling for the camera that day.

Somehow I ended up with some cute pictures anyway.

A back view of the dress.

Perfect for playing in the mud!

After completing the dress, I decided to make a matching shirt for Little Man using scraps of the shamrock fabric and the denim.

The finished product was super cute and didn’t take long to make.

I used a technique I found at the Quilted Turtle to create a raw-edged applique.

Pretty cute, huh?

I think he liked it.

Check out my new hat!

Hope you all have a fun and safe Saint Paddy’s day!

I can post more detailed tutorials for these projects if anyone is interested.

Until next time,

Twodaloo!

Linking up to:

Cowgirl Up at Crafty Texas Girls

Mop it Up Mondays at I Should Be Mopping the Floor

6 thoughts on “My Little Lucky Charms

  1. Love it! you are getting too crafty for me girl!! you need to teach me to be a crafty mommy! did you cute that little mans locks? he looks like a big boy – so handsome and Sydney such a little model – love them!!

    • Thanks, Mama! I did get his hair cut…he looks like a little punk rocker now 😉 Let me know when you are feeling up to it and I’ll bring them over to visit you and your little angels!

  2. Wow! I love all your new sewing machine creations- this is the best yet! And it doesn’t hurt that you have the two cutest models ever. Will’s hair looks adorable and sweet Sydney is always a charmer. Thanks for linking up to “Cowgirl Up!”. Makes me happy to have my friends at the ‘party’.
    🙂 Samantha

    • Thanks, Samantha! You are right, the clothes always look much better once I put them on the kiddos. As always, thanks for hosting! Your party always has such great stuff!

Leave a Reply

