Take Perfect Photos of Your Children

While browsing through pictures of my children from the past year, I couldn’t help but notice how many beautiful photographs I have in my collection.  My children are truly photogenic, and my skills as a photographer have really blossomed!  It occurred to me that the least I could do for you, my faithful followers, is to share my genius by offering a few tips for improving your family photos.  So, without further adieu, I present…

Twodaloo’s Tips for Taking Perfect Photos of Your Children

1. Capture Emotion

Make your photos come alive by capturing emotion in the expressions of your subjects.  This picture illustrates a touching moment between siblings.

2. Location is Everything

Choosing novel locations is a great way to infuse some drama into your photos.

3. Elicit Natural Smiles

Natural smiles are much more beautiful than those that have been “staged” for the shot.

Another stunning example of the beauty of natural smiles.

4. Take Photographs that Reflect the Personalities of Your Subjects

Photos that capture the personalities of your subjects are much more memorable than tired studio poses.

Portraying personality can really make a photo jump off the page.

Another example of allowing personalities to shine through.

5. Take Interesting Photos

Unusual poses, props, or outfits can take your photos to a whole new level.

6. Include Favorite Places and Things

Including a favorite toy in the photo not only makes the photo more playful, but also more meaningful in the future.

Another child with her special toy. Can’t you just imagine this photo proudly displayed in your home?

7. Be sure your subjects are comfortable with their surroundings

Photos of children and babies exploring their surroundings are often full of whimsy and wonder.

8. Photograph subjects when they are well rested, fed, and happy.

Happy subjects are much more likely to cooperate with your requests.

It goes without saying that a well-rested child will produce better results! Try to schedule photography sessions after naps or first thing in the morning.

9. Crop photos

Cropping your photos allows you to minimize background interference and draw attention to your subject.

Cropping this photo into a head shot really showcases this baby’s delicate features.

10. Photograph during play or normal activities

Mealtime is often a great opportunity for adorable shots.

11. Candid moments are often the best!

This photo really speaks for itself. Look at the expression on my son’s face. Beautiful!

Well, there you have it!  Hope you enjoyed my tips and learned something new!  I’m thinking of opening my own photography studio. Seriously, my talents must be shared with the world.

Until next time,

Twodaloo!

4 thoughts on “Take Perfect Photos of Your Children

    • Haha, thanks, Samet! Since my post was supposed to be funny, I think it’s great that you still like the photos! Believe me, I know I’m no photography genius! The only thing I do know is I get about one good photo per 10 not-so-great shots! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

