Bedtime

It’s bedtime.  It’s been a long day.  As I gather my baby girl in my arms and cuddle her tight to my chest, she snuggles in and buries her face into her favorite blanket, leaving one eye uncovered so she can reassure herself from time to time that I am still there as she drifts off to sleep.  I’ll always be here, baby girl, I want to say.  I will never leave you.  But instead I lean forward and kiss her so gently on the apple of her rosy cheek, and shush her softly.  I watch her face relax, I feel her breathing become slow and regular.  I study her little face, memorizing the shadows her lashes cast on her cheek, the way her soft hair curls behind her ear, because this is a moment with my child that I will never get back.  Bedtime is my time to carpe diem, to reflect on the events of the day while relishing the soft weight of one of my babies in my arms.  Did you have a good day? I want to ask her.  Did you feel happy today? Do you know how much I love you?  She sighs, and then I sigh, my heart suddenly filled to bursting with love for my children, for this precious baby girl in my arms.

Until next time,

Twodaloo

One thought on “Bedtime

Leave a Reply

